Find modern grace

Mod moroccan rugs

Recently, I pulled out my Moroccan rug out of the storage shed and put it in the dining room. It’s been in the shed since I bought it in 1990 on a trip to Marrakech and the piece is full of memories of the trip. I would never part with it, yet it has posed a challenge in fitting with the minimalist decor in the house. Yet since bringing it out, the rug has been great fun to live with. It gives the dining area some good summer color, like a ripe tomato. It also adds pattern and texture and a certain bit of character that comes with the handmade. I thought it would be interesting to take a look some other rooms that have employed this quintessential red rug into the decor.

Overall, I really like this look. One reason why these rooms remain modern and contemporary, while receiving the benefit of color, texture, pattern and a whole lot of soul is due to the proportion of rug to the overall space. In each of these examples the white walls, architectural features, and other objects dominant the space, and the rug is really just an accent and dose of color. They function, for me, like a pillow – an accessory. Moroccan can do well in a modern room, I think, and you don’t have to travel all the way to Africa to pick one up. If you do purchase one stateside, make sure that it is certified authentic, and try to buy though an established dealer.

2 comments on “Mod moroccan rugs

  1. legalbeagle1
    July 7, 2012

    Allison, I am really enjoying reading your blog! I remember hearing about this rug years ago…. and finally I get to see it! It’s gorgeous and looks amazing! xo Melissa

    • modernplum
      July 8, 2012

      Hi Melissa – I am so glad! Did I tell you about my Moroccan rug – it now finally, has a home. Hope that you summer is going well. I really enjoyed getting together. BTW, last night i used the Silver Palatte cookbook you gave me, which is now three pieces since its fallen apart – its so sentimental I won’t ever let it go! AW

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2012 by in Interiors and tagged , , .
