Find modern grace

Way of wood by Josh Vogel

This month’s Food and Wine has a story about Josh Vogel, an artist, sculptor, and designer based in the Hudson Valley, New York, that works with large timber to create large turned wood sculptures, kitchen tools, and limited edition objects. All are infused with such grace. Although supremely simple in form, they have the kind of quiet energy that signifies all great art. I am so happy to know about Vogel and his company, Blackcreek Mercantile & Trading Company.  It’s such a pleasure to view his pieces, let alone the possibility of acquiring one.

wooden carving boards

collection of grain scoopers

collection of hand carved sculls

vessels

Images courtesy of Blackcreek Mercantile and Trading Company

6 comments on “Way of wood by Josh Vogel

  1. artdoesmatter
    October 12, 2012

    Vogel’s work is stunning – (I may be a bit biased as I studied art in the Hudson Valley and lived there for quite a few years.) His work looks so fluid that I’d gather to remark these pieces seem as if they were “thrown” on a wheel instead of meticulously crafted/turned in wood. Glad I found your blog – enjoyable reading.

    • modernplum
      October 13, 2012

      I agree – his stuff if gorgeous! Thanks for visiting the bog, and I’ll visit yours too — art does matter!

  2. designmixer
    October 12, 2012

    loved them all!

    • modernplum
      October 13, 2012

      It is gorgeous — such fluidity in the work – I’d love to snap up a few of those large sculptures…

  3. mcnabbstudio
    October 25, 2012

    Beautiful images. I love the grain scoopers! Very clean and simple form at its best.

    • modernplum
      October 28, 2012

      I agree – these are such a good example of form and function infused with the spirit. I saw your site, and I really like it – here is to the pursuit of beauty!

Leave a Reply

